Prehistoric and ancient Japan

Paleolithic period

Jōmon period

Yayoi period

Kofun period (c. 250–538)

Classical Japan

Asuka period (538–710)

Nara period (710–794)

Heian period (794–1185)

  • Heian culture

Feudal Japan

Kamakura period (1185–1333)

Muromachi period (1333–1568)

  • Nanban trade
  • Muromachi culture

Azuchi–Momoyama period (1568-1600)

Early modern Japan

Edo period (1600–1868)

  • Culture and philosophy
  • Decline and fall of the shogunate

Modern Japan

Meiji period (1868–1912)

  • Political and social changes
  • Rise of imperialism and the military
  • Economic modernization and labor unrest

Taishō period (1912–1926)

Shōwa period (1926–1989)

  • Manchurian Incident and the Second Sino-Japanese War
  • World War II
  • Occupation of Japan
  • Postwar growth and prosperity

Heisei period (1989–2019)

Reiwa period (2019–present)

Social conditions